Charleville CBS pip Cashel CS in thriller to qualify for Harty Cup quarter-final

This marvellous game produced some great hurling
Charleville CBS pip Cashel CS in thriller to qualify for Harty Cup quarter-final

Adam Daly, Cashel CS looking to go past Charleville CBS players, Chris Dunne, Eoin O'Mahony and Sean Byrne in their TUS Dr Harty Cup preliminary quarter-final match in Bansha, Co Tipperary. Picture Dan Linehan

Harty Cup: Charleville CBS 1-17 Cashel CS 0-19 

The Charleville CBS supporters were lining up to congratulate their players and mentors after Wednesday’s famous victory in the TUS Dr Harty Cup preliminary quarter-final in Bansha. In their first season back in the competition after an absence of six years, they went wild with celebration.

In their midst was Donal Mulcahy, the former Newtownshandrum great who was such a rock for his club, and is now a successful part of the Charleville CBS management team.

“Harty hurling and the history in Bansha and to do it here, it is a brilliant place to be,” he said.

“I think it is 2014 since we were in a quarter-final. We knew Cashel were a serious side. It was a fabulous game of hurling. 

“For the school, this is really important. There are some really, really good hurlers in Charleville, Ballyhea, Newtown, Dromina and into the surrounding areas in Limerick. It is a hurling hotbed really, there is some serious talent there.

“It is testament to the work that is gone into these lads, they have come together since September, absolutely delighted for them.” 

Credit to both teams for producing such a pulsating and dramatic battle.

Titleholders Cashel CS died in their boots in a contest that was level three times in each half, the Tipperary side ahead 0-10 to 0-9 at the interval.

They had an opportunity to draw level with a last-gasp free from a tight angle - and few would have complained with extra-time - but it went wide of the post.

When centre-forward Eoin O’Mahony burrowed his way through the Cashel CS defence and scored a wonderful solo goal in the 42nd minute, it ensured Charleville CBS led for the first time, 1-13 to 0-14.

A long-distance free from goalkeeper Kieran Murphy followed, and the north Cork side, who had finished second in Group 4, held their biggest lead of the match.

Cashel applied pressure, and managed to draw level with five minutes to play.

It was nip and tuck all the way to the finish line, Joseph Hickey’s point on 60 minutes - his fourth from play - the winning score.

As well, there was an astonishing reflex save by Murphy from a Briain O’Donoghue shot soon after the restart.

It was evident from the outset, this was going to go to the wire. Two points apiece, five points apiece, six points apiece - Oisin O’Donoghue giving an exhibition of sideline cuts.

Joseph Hickey might have had a goal, the full-forward was happy to take his point. Every time Cashel CS pulled away, Charleville matched their intensity.

Gareth Gleeson’s ninth point on the stroke of half-time was proof. The stern test continued in the second-half.

Eleven points each in the 34th minute, this time courtesy of free-taker Chris Dunne. Adam Daly, Oisin O’Donoghue the danger men for Cashel CS, who went two up 0-14 to 0-12.

A Charleville purple patch yielded 1-2 - O’Mahony’s goal sandwiched by points from Eoin Horgan (inspirational score) and Murphy.

The teams were locked twice more before Hickey’s winner, in what can only be described as a wholehearted team effort.

Scorers for Charleville CBS: C Dunne (0-6, 0-5 frees), E O’Mahony (1-2), J Hickey (0-4), G Gleeson and E Horgan (0-2 each), K Murphy (0-1 free).

Scorers for Cashel CS: O O’Donoghue (0-7, 0-4 frees, 0-3 sl) A Daly (0-5), S Buckley (0-1 free, 0-1 65) and C Ryan (0-2 each), B O’Donoghue, P Dalton and S Cooney (0-1 each).

CHARLEVILLE CBS: K Murphy (Newtownshandrum); N Tobin (Bruree), T McCarthy (Newtownshandrum), F O’Sullivan (Ballyhea); S Bresnan (Charleville), B Collins (Newtownshandrum, Capt), S Byrne (Ballyhea); R Troy (Newtownshandrum), T O’Neill (Newtownshandrum); E Horgan (Granagh Ballingarry), E O’Mahony (Newtownshandrum), C Dunne (Dromina); G Gleeson (Charleville), J Hickey (Ballyhea), P Daly (Ballyhea).

Subs: L O’Mahony (Newtownshandrum) for P Daly (half-time), B Kiely (Charleville) for T O’Neill (60).

CASHEL CS: T Breen (Boherlahan-Dualla); J Dalton (Golden Kilfeacle), B Manton (Cashel King Cormacs), N O’Flynn (Fethard); G Dalton (Golden Kilfeacle), D Fogarty (Boherlahan-Dualla), C Ryan (Boherlahan-Dualla); S Buckley (Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams, J-Capt), P Colville (Rosegreen); S Cooney (Clerihan), O O’Donoghue (Cashel King Cormacs, J-Capt), P Dalton (Golden Kilfeacle); B O’Donoghue (Cashel King Cormacs), A Daly (Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams), S Kennedy (Clonoulty Rossmore).

Subs: C Byrne (Golden Kilfeacle) for S Kennedy (38), C Walsh (Fethard) for S Cooney (55), S Hall (Golden Kilfeacle) for P Colville (58).

Referee: Johnny Murphy (Limerick).

More in this section

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Cookie Policy Privacy Policy Brand Safety FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Examiner Echo Group Limited